• PEO 2017 Engineering Scholarship for High School Students


The Willowdale/Thornhill Chapter of the Professional Engineers of Ontario (WTPEO) is awarding three (3) engineering scholarships to eligible high school students who gains admittance to an engineering program at university level for September of 2017. The total amount of the scholarship is $3,500. The scholarships will be awarded to first, second and third place in the amount of $2,000, $1,000 and $500 accordingly.

The applicants must meet the following requirements:
• Be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident of Canada
• Graduating the school year 2016-2017 from a High School located in Willowdale/Thornhill area served by WTPEO, or Living in Willowdale/Thornhill boundary defined in the PDF through this link:
• Accepted into a Canadian Accredited Engineering program at university level.

The documents detailed below are required to be considered for this scholarship:
1. Application form filled and signed. The application form is available here --> LINK
2. Proof of admission to a Canadian Accredited Engineering program at university level for the 2016-2017 academic calendar.
3. High School report card, transcripts, or GPA (grade point average).
4. A 600-word original essay written by the student describing his/her personal achievements, academic skills, leadership, volunteer activities, hobbies and interests in Engineering. At least 200-word statement in the essay should describe his/her future plans as a Professional Engineer.
5. Student Evaluation Form signed by the student’s Science or Math High School teacher. Entry applications can be emailed to: under Ref. “PEO Scholarship” before the deadline of Friday, July 14, 2017. The evaluation form is available here --> LINK

Only complete applications will be evaluated by the WTPEO panel based on: Quality and originality of essay, academic performance, social involvement, and Engineering interest. The 2017 PEO Engineering Scholarship winners will be contacted by the end of August 2017. The results will also be posted on the WTPEO website and a public presentation to recipients will take place in November 2017 (estimated date).

Additional Questions? Please e-mail us at


Past 2016 WTPEO Scholarship Winners

Justin Borromeo - Bayview Glen School - $1300 Scholarship

Alireza Aghajafari - A.Y Jackson Secondary School - $700 Scholarship

Margaret Tkatcgenko - Vaughan Secondary School - $500 Scholarship